Sargeant Secures Maiden Eurocup Win in Paul Ricard Opener


American racer Logan Sargeant jumped into the lead at the start of the opening race of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Championship weekend at the Circuit Paul Ricard on Saturday, and despite early pressure from Max Fewtrell, came through to take the victory.

Sargeant assumed the lead into the first turn on the opening lap and did not put a foot wrong as he denied his R-ace GP team-mate Fewtrell an opportunity to pass, and ultimately edged away in the closing laps to win by 1.887 seconds.

Yifei Ye completed the podium for Josef Kaufmann Racing, with the Chinese racer resisting late race pressure from Lorenzo Colombo of JD Motorsport, with the Italian have earlier passed Christian Lundgaard to claim fourth.

Lundgaard had a lonely second half of the race but the MP Motorsport driver retained fifth until the chequered flag, but sixth placed Oscar Piastri of Arden Motorsport had a much busier afternoon, with the Australian keeping Tech 1 Racing duo Neil Verhagen and Aleksandr Smolyar at bay for much of the race.

Charles Milesi took ninth for R-ace GP, while the final point went to Arden Motorsport’s Alexander Vartanyan.

A dreadful start from Victor Martins ruined the Frenchman’s afternoon as the R-ace GP driver dropped from third on the grid all the way down to fifteenth, and although he was able to gain a few places back, he found the defences of Thomas Maxwell too much to break down, and he was forced to settle for twelfth.

There were three high profile retirements on the opening lap, when contact in the opening few turns saw MP Motorsport duo Alex Peroni and Max Defourny, and Josef Kaufmann Racing’s Richard Verschoor, all ended their races in the pits with damage.

Fortec MotorsportsArthur Rougier also retired from the race on five lap, while a mistake at the exit of turn two saw Sami Taoufik forced to pit for a new front wing, leaving him a lapped twenty-third and last.

Circuit Paul Ricard Race 1 Result

1 2 Logan Sargeant USA R-ace GP 30:50.726s
2 1 Max Fewtrell GBR R-ace GP +1.887
3 16 Yifei Ye CHN Josef Kaufmann Racing +6.493
4 61 Lorenzo Colombo ITA JD Motorsport +6.658
5 31 Christian Lundgaard DEN MP Motorsport +8.205
6 41 Oscar Piastri AUS Arden Motorsport +12.316
7 21 Neil Verhagen USA Tech 1 Racing +12.668
8 22 Alexander Smolyar RUS Tech 1 Racing +13.016
9 3 Charles Milesi FRA R-ace GP +15.407
10 42 Alexander Vartanyan RUS Arden Motorsport +16.645
11 62 Thomas Maxwell AUS JD Motorsport +21.481
12 4 Victor Martins FRA R-ace GP +21.805
13 23 Thomas Neubauer FRA Tech 1 Racing +28.364
14 85 Raul Guzman MEX Fortec Motorsports +30.453
15 63 Najiy Razak MYS JD Motorsport +33.977
16 11 Clement Novalak GBR Josef Kaufmann Racing +34.713
17 53 Eliseo Martinez ESP AVF by Adrian Valles +35.111
18 24 Frank Bird GBR Tech 1 Racing +35.691
19 52 Xavier Lloveras ESP AVF by Adrian Valles +36.442
20 51 Axel Matos MEX AVF by Adrian Valles +44.669
21 84 Vladimir Tziortzis RUS Fortec Motorsports +45.757
22 54 Christian Munoz COL AVF by Adrian Valles +45.832
23 43 Sami Taoufik MOR Arden Motorsport +1 Lap
RET 87 Arthur Rougier FRA Fortec Motorsports Retired
RET 12 Richard Verschoor NED Josef Kaufmann Racing Retired
RET 32 Alex Peroni AUS MP Motorsport Retired
RET 33 Max Defourny BEL MP Motorsport Retired

Read The Story Here



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here